The last European round of the 2017 FIA World Rallycross Championship season will be held at the legendary Estering in Buxtehude outside Hamburg. Top level rallycross events have been held here since the days of Martin Schanche, but never has the level been as high as today.

Because in Riga, Latvia last time, Johan Kristoffersson won again and decided the championship two rounds early. His average this season is over 27 points per event. The maximum score per event is 30. Madness. Mattias Ekström and Sebastien Loeb joined him on the podium, both may still catch up with Petter Solberg who remains second overall despite crashing out in the semifinal.

In our Fantasy league tromoly took an impressive win, scoring 151 points out of a total possible of 157. Our Dutch engineer redeemed slightly lacking picks with a correct order, and unlocked the rare 10 point bonus! GiuRX still leads, but only with 30 points. Catching him is hard, but possible.

Estering is located in the Northern part of Germany, and is known for a spectacular first corner where the drivers may chose several different approaches. One that combined both spectacular and effective was Kevin Eriksson last year. Let’s see that one noch einmal, bitte


As you might understand, it is a spectacular track despite the lack of a jump. It is quite tight, but we still see passing from time to time. In 2014 Petter Solberg won in front of Mattias Ekström by 5 thousands of a second.


952 m
Tarmac/Gravel: 60%/40%
Lap Record: 00.35.971 (Robin Larsson)
Previous winners: Kevin Eriksson (2016), Davy Jeanney (2015), Petter Solberg (2014)

Even if Johan Kristoffersson and PSRX Volkswagen Sweden are crowned champions, all is not good in that team. Petter Solberg was left with a broken collarbone and two broken ribs after the freak accident in Latvia. Solberg was hit by Janis Baumanis in the side while at full steering lock, and the awkward angle between his arm, shoulder and the rest of the body led to the injuries. The team has put VW testdriver and former rally driver Dieter Depping in a third Polo this weekend, so the team will anyways have two drivers. You’re probably all picking Kristoffersson anyways.

We’ve also seen some frustration recently from the WorldRX paddock, as Peugeot-Hansen and EKSRX have complained about the VW domination. Bringing a WRC chassis with WorldRX bits stuck to it isn’t that popular anymore. They also envy their budget, even though it’s not that much bigger than what everyone else has. Let’s not forget that they have two of the best drivers as well. It’s also nice to remember that Kenneth Hansen dominated European Rallycross Championships with factory support from Citroën and won more titles than his driver Loeb won in rally.


Also joining in on the action is OlsbergsMSE and their GRC regular Sebastian Eriksson. They definitely had the pace in Höljes earlier this year, so he could he an interesting pick. EuroRX regulars Martin Kaczmarski, Rene Münnich and Andreas Steffen also joins for Estering, but will most likely finish outside the points.

As it happens, I’ve actually just moved to Northern Germany, and will attend this round! If you have anything you want me to check out, let me know in the comments! I missed out on Höljes this year, so it is good to catch at least one round live.

To participate in Fantasy WorldRX, pick six drivers from the entry list below and post them in the comments before the racing starts Saturday. You may only pick one driver from each team. If your drivers score points in the same order as in your picks, you get an additional 10 points. If you want to do an in-depth analysis before picking, consult the WorldRX stats spreadsheet. You find all the supercar entries below.


To follow the round from Estering, tune in Sunday at 14:00 CEST on their YouTube site or the TV Channel broadcasting in your country.

#1 Mattias Ekström (SWE) - Avg last 10: 22.50 - Avg GER: 16.67
#15 Reinis Nitiss (LVA) - Avg last 10: 7.00 - Avg GER: 8.50
#57 Toomas “Topi” Heikkinen (FIN) - Avg last 10: 9.90 - Avg GER: 9.33


#3 Johan Kristoffersson (SWE) - Avg last 10: 27.10 - Avg GER: 16.00
#11 Petter Solberg (NOR) - Avg last 10: 20.90 - Avg GER: 26.33
#94 Dieter Depping (DEU) - Avg last 0: N/A - Avg GER: N/A

#6 Janis Baumanis (LVA) - Avg last 10: 7.70 - Avg GER: 16.00
#7 Timur Timerzyanov (RUS) - Avg last 10: 7.40 - Avg GER: 9.67

#9 Sebastien Loeb (FRA) - Avg last 10: 19.40 - Avg GER: 14.00
#21 Timmy Hansen (SWE) - Avg last 10: 17.70 - Avg GER: 14.67
#71 Kevin Hansen (SWE) - Avg last 10: 8.40 - Avg GER: 22.00


#13 Andreas Bakkerud (NOR) - Avg last 10: 16.50 - Avg GER: 12.67
#43 Ken Block (USA) - Avg last 10: 10.30 - Avg GER: 6.00

#44 Timo Scheider (DEU) - Avg last 10: 10.00 - Avg GER: N/A
#96 Kevin Eriksson (SWE) - Avg last 10: 8.40 - Avg GER: 22.00

#10 Kornel “Csucsu” Lucacs (HUN), Kia Rio - Avg last 10: 0.10 - Avg GER: N/A
#58 Alister McRae (GBR), Volkswagen Polo - Avg last 1: 0.00 - Avg GER: N/A
#68 Niclas Grönholm (FIN), Ford Fiesta - Avg last 10: 4.10 - Avg GER: 0.00
#69 Martin Kaczmarski (POL), Ford Fiesta - Avg last 4: 0.00 - Avg GER: N/A
#77 Rene Münnich (DEU), Citroën DS3 - Avg last 10: 0.70 - Avg GER: 2.00
#80 Andreas Steffen (DEU), Ford Fiesta - Avg last 1: 0.00 - Avg GER: 0.00
#87 Jean-Baptiste Dubourg (FRA), Peugeot 208 - Avg last 10: 1.40 - Avg GER: N/A
#93 Sebastian Eriksson (SWE), Ford Fiesta - Avg last 2: 14.00 - Avg GER: N/A